The Reader Appreciation Award

Image

I have been kindly nominated for The Reader Appreciation Award by the lovely Melissa Mostyn-Thomas; mother, writer and blogger of http://themostynthomasjournal.com/ Her blog is centred around daughter Isobel who has Cerebral Palsy and also the newest family member baby Ben. A wonderful document of family life and the daily barriers faced. Many thanks to you.

When I first tentatively started blogging through Stage and Sign I was unsure of the right approach. As my confidence grew I saw blogs as an excellent medium for personal expression whether through words, pictures or videos. The Reader Appreciation Award is a great way to share the great works of the blogosphere and I’d like to express a huge amount of thanks to my regular readers and supporters.

When you nominate a blog for The Reader Appreciation Award, you are stating you admire the person’s blog and recommend people check it out. Once you receive a nomination you must follow these rules.

1. Include the award logo somewhere in your blog.
2. Answer 10 questions (detailed below) about yourself, if you want to.
3. Nominate 10-12 blogs that you love. Or you pick the number.
4. Contact the nominated bloggers to let them know.
5. Thank the blogger(s) who nominated you with a link in your blog.

Image

A little insight to blogger Sami Thorpe via the questions below:

1. Favourite colour?

Red. Bold and bright, the colour of passion. I’m generally a fan of all colours,

although my Mum has a bit of a phobia of yellow so I have a tendency to avoid that colour.

2. Favourite animal?

Penguin. They just make me smile. I once adopted a penguin called Walnut at Weymouth Sea Life Centre. This is her on the left.

3. Favourite non-alcoholic drink?

I love treating myself to a Starbucks. Especially as soya milk is readily available for those of us who are lactose intolerant to enjoy. If I’m being good I love a pot of green or herbal tea.

4. Facebook or Twitter?

Twitter! It’s a great place to keep up to date with the going-ons of the world and to discuss them with new people. I find Facebook is useful for keeping in contact with long lost friends… and remembering birthdays.

5. Favourite Pattern?

Anything random and fairly non-symmetrical. So much of our visual lives is designed to be symmetrical, a bit of chaos is what we all need.

6. Do you prefer giving or getting presents? 

Giving. I like coming up with gift ideas that are unique and personal. Although I still revert back to being an excited child on Christmas morning.

7. Favourite number?

6. There are a lot of 6s linked to my birth. (1986, born at 6:16pm weighing 6lbs and 6oz) Say what you like about the devil connotations, it’s my lucky number.

8. Favourite day of the week?

Wednesday. I think this stems from having drama lessons and finishing school early on a Wednesday. For most it’s the mid-week slump but for me I seem to have a buzz about Wednesdays.

9. Favourite flower?

Hayfever means I despise plants at this time of year. My Mum is a real green-fingers and whilst I clearly haven’t inherited this gene I’ve grown a lavender plant in my garden as I love the smell it’s many uses.

10. What is your passion?

Regulars to my blog should know this one. I’m passionate about theatre and inclusion. I believe that theatre is a wonderful tool for education and change and should be accessible for all. So whether I’m performing, running workshops or blogging about the Arts I’m happy.

Here’s my list of nominated bloggers:

The Limping Chicken – A hub for deaf news and views. New posts added daily. Many fab writers to be found on this site. Anything by Emily Howlett is always a good giggle.

Page 888 – A reference to the old teletext subtitles. Live subtitling mistakes are collated here in the style of teletext.

i heart subtitles – Blogs on captioning and subtitling for all visual media.

Cats and Chocolate – Deaf writer and journalist; Lizzie Ward blogs about life.

Handprint Theatre – This fab integrated deaf and hearing theatre company post beautiful photos and words to make you smile. Their Happy Monday blog is a highlight for anyone suffering from post weekend blues.

DeafFirefly – A Deaf perspective on a silly world, candidly written by Donna Williams, a BSL poet.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Hi Sami, just wanted to say thanks for nominating me! Did you mean my blog http://catsandchocolate.com or my website? I can accept the award on either, but I use my blog most often at the moment! I’m glad you enjoy reading my work 🙂

    Reply

    • Yes the cats and chocolate one is the one I’ve read most; same blogger different blog! I’ll update my post. I know the Handprint lot from University and did some work with them a few years ago, I love seeing what they are up to. Congrats on all your blogging, nomination well deserved! xx

      Reply

  2. Also thanks so much for nominating Handprint’s blog too – my sis Sarah and I run it! She’s brilliant at the Happy Monday posts though 🙂 xx

    Reply

  3. Posted by deaffirefly on June 20, 2012 at 5:24 pm

    Hey, nominated you as well, it’s on my blog now 🙂 Snap on the blue, though maybe a slightly different kind of blue!

    Reply

    • Thanks. I didn’t link to your blog at first as Melissa already had in hers. However, having thought about it… how could I not nominate you. Love your blog. 🙂

      Reply

  4. My brother suggested I might like this web site. He was entirely right. This post truly made my day. You can not imagine just how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

